Welcome to the Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology


 

The Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology is an annual summer school of modern epidemiology and is the successor to the Haendel School of Modern Epidemiology that was started by Prof. Andreas Stang, MPH at the Martin-Luther-University of Halle-Wittenberg in 2005. From 2005 until 2013, the school in Halle hosted Kenneth J. Rothman (GMS Med Inform Biom Epidemiol 2005;1(3):Doc16), Albert Hofman, Alexander Walker, Mimi Zeiger, Noel Weiss, John P.A. Ioannidis, Olli Miettinen, and Tyler VanderWeele.

 

Since 2014, Prof. Stang is a Professor of Epidemiology at the University of Duisburg-Essen, Germany and therefore he has relocated the Haendel School of Modern Epidemiology to University of Duisburg-Essen, which now falls under the name of the Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology. The aim of the Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology is to provide up-to-date modern epidemiology courses by international lecturers. The term “Modern Epidemiology” within the name of the school is used to indicate the closeness to the epidemiological school of thinking as developed by Kenneth J. Rothman, Sander Greenland, and Timothy Lash. The name “Ruhr” arises from the fact that the river Ruhr flows through the city of Essen.

 

The Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology provides a mixture of lectures, paper & pencil exercises, and group work. Depending on the contents of the school, also computer labs will be organized.

 

After agreement with master or doctoral programs, credit points can be transferred from Essen to the programs. The school is usually certified by the regional medical association so that physicians can get certified credit points for continuous medical education.

 

 

2017   Principles of Cancer Epidemiology   Prof. Andreas Stang, MPH

2018   TBA

Willkommen zur Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology


 

Die Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology ist eine jährlich stattfindende Summer School der modernen Epidemiologie und ist die Fortführung der Händel School of Modern Epidemiology, die von Prof. Andreas Stang, MPH an der Martin-Luther-Universität Halle-Wittenberg im Jahre 2005 initiiert wurde. Von 2005 bis 2013 wurden international Dozenten für die School in Halle gewonnen: Kenneth J. Rothman (GMS Med Inform Biom Epidemiol 2005;1(3):Doc16), Albert Hofman, Alexander Walker, Mimi Zeiger, Noel Weiss, John P.A. Ioannidis, Olli Miettinen und Tyler VanderWeele.

 

Seit 2014 ist Prof. Stang an der Universität Duisburg-Essen, Deutschland und hat daher die Händel School of Modern Epidemiology an der Universität Duisburg-Essen unter dem Namen Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology fortgesetzt. Das Ziel der School ist es, up-to-date moderne Epidemiologie durch internationale Dozenten zu präsentieren. Der Term “Modern Epidemiology” im Namen der School wird verwendet, um die Nähe zur epidemiologischen Denkschule von Kenneth J. Rothman, Sander Greenland und Timothy Lash anzuzeigen. Der Name “Ruhr” rührt daher, dass die Stadt Essen von dem Fluss Ruhr durchflossen wird.

 

Die Ruhr School of Modern Epidemiology bietet eine geeignete Mischung aus Vorträgen, papier-basierten Übungen und Gruppenarbeit an. In Abhängigkeit des jeweiligen Themas der School werden auch Computer Labs organisiert.

 

In Abstimmung mit Master- oder Doktorandenprogrammen können Credit-Points transferiert werden. Die School wird üblicherweise von der regionalen Landesärztekammer zertifiziert, so dass Ärztinnen und Ärzte Fortbildungspunkte erhalten können.

 

2017   Principles of Cancer Epidemiology   Prof. Andreas Stang, MPH

2018   TBA